Don’t be nice

I never thought I’d say this – but there are times when ‘nice,’ simply doesn’t work. I have given my manuscript to three different people to critique – a professional editor, my hubby, and a dear friend who is an avid reader – all with the same request – edit brutally. Now is not the time to try and save my feelings. The first two did. Dear friend, however, exclaimed how not-put-downable my story was and wants to know can she share it with her book club? While flattering, my dear friend is just that – dear. I may have to reinforce that I need solid feedback – was it a good story ALL THE WAY THROUGH?

Leave a Reply

