Query Kombat

I submitted my query letter and first 250 words of my novel to Query Kombat on Friday and, let me tell you, it was a stressful event. This contest requires perfect performance if you don’t want your submission to be tossed in the trash.

I read and reread the requirements. We were at our lake cabin when the one-hour window opened. I have never had a problem with internet connection at the cabin using my cell phone hot spot, but I kept getting ‘limited access’ messages. I even tried to hard-tether the phone to my laptop.

So we drove to a nearby town and turned on my cellphone hotspot – still no luck. Finally, with laptop on my lap we drove the car into the alley beside a hotel and used their unsecured network. I carefully loaded my information to exact specifications and boing! kept getting the resend countdown clock over and over again. Time was running out.

Finally I started over – opened a new email, loaded everything on, hands shaking and hit the send button. This time it worked and I got a reply back that my entry had been received. Hallelujah!

Now I worried that they would get two submissions and kick me out of the contest or that, in my haste, I did something wrong in the formatting.

I guess I’ll find out May 31.

Leave a Reply

